APC holds 15 states, PDP 11, three outstanding (FULL DETAILS)

A clearer picture has now emerged of how the two dominant political parties performed in this year’s governorship elections across the country.

Elections held in 29 of the 36 states this year, and results for 26 states are now fully in following the supplementary poll on Saturday.

Elections did not hold in Kogi, Edo, Ekiti, Bayelsa, Ondo and Anambra this year.

A breakdown of the results from the 26 states showed that the All Progressives Congress, which controls the centre, won in 15 states; while the main opposition Peoples Democratic Party laid claim to 11 states.

Adamawa, Bauchi and Rivers are the remaining three of the total 29 states that held governorship polls on March 9 but whose results are still outstanding as of the evening of March 24.

As results from those three states stand, the PDP appeared poised to win each of them, which would likely expand its states to 14.

The PDP is leading in Adamawa from the March 9 results, but a supplementary election that was scheduled to wrap up the state was delayed by a court ruling. It is however expected that PDP’s Ahmadu Fintiri would defeat Governor Jibrilla Bindow based on the already declared results and the analysis of collected PVCs in places where supplementary poll will hold.

In Bauchi, PDP’s Bala Mohammed, erstwhile Abuja minister, has all but defeated Governor Mohammed Abubakar, as results from Saturdays supplementary poll showed he had expanded his lead over the incumbent.

The results from Bauchi are being held due to a court order that prohibited further collation of results from Tafawa Balewa Local Government Area. But an examination of the already declared results show the PDP candidate poised for victory even without that LGA.

Although INEC has not collated results from Rivers State, the state’s status as a PDP stronghold, as with the remaining states in the core Niger-Delta, has positioned Governor Nyesom Wike for a possible second term.

The PDP’s chances in Rivers were bolstered by the failure of APC to field candidates in the election, after the Supreme Court found that the party did not satisfy election guidelines to have a governorship candidate in the state.

The results of the election also show that at least four states changed leadership between APC and PDP. Kwara and Gombe that are currently governed by the PDP were won by the APC while Imo and Oyo that are governed by the APC have now been won by the PDP.

See how APC and PDP won governorship seats across the 29 states below:

PDP 261127
APC 99574
Adamawa (Inconclusive)
PDP 367611
APC 334995
Akwa Ibom
PDP 520163
APC 172244
Bauchi (Inconclusive)
PDP 469512
APC 465456
PDP 434473
APC 345155
APC 1175445
PDP 66215
Cross River
PDP 381484
APC 131161
PDP 925274
APC 215038
PDP 393049
APC 135903
PDP 449935
APC 10423
APC 364179
PDP 222868
PDP 273404
AA 190364
APC 810933
PDP 288356
APC 1044710
PDP 814168
PDP 1024713
APC 1033695
APC 1178868
PDP 488705
APC 673717
PDP 102625
APC 331546
PDP 115310
APC 739445 75.65
PDP 206141
APC 327229
PDP 184259
APC 526351
PDP 298056
APC 241670
APM 222153
PDP 515621
APC 357982
APC 562109
PDP 559437
Rivers (Undeclared)
PDP 512002
APC 511660
PDP 520433
APC 362735
APC 444013
PDP 95803
APC 534541
PDP 189452

(Premium Times)


Related Articles

Let's keep you updated with the on-goings on Brain Trust Hub (The Momentum Tv)
We respect your privacy.