Amosun wins Ogun senatorial seat

The Ogun State Governor, Ibikunle Amosun, has emerged senator-elect of Ogun Central Senatorial district in Ogun state with 88,110 votes.

Mr Amosun won with a margin of 51,009 votes as he had a total of 88,110 votes, as against the candidate with the second maximum votes, Titi Oseni of ADC, who had 37,101 votes.

The Returning Officer, Ayinde Akande, made the announcement around 3:58 am Monday morning at Centenary Hall, Ake, Abeokuta in Ogun State.

“[Amosun] Ibikunle of APC having satisfied the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected,” Mr Akande said.

Mr Amosun and 18 other candidates had participated at the election on Saturday for the Senatorial seat.

The contest took place in six local government areas of the state.

Mr Amosun was a former senator, representing Ogun Central senatorial district before becoming a governor in 2015.


Related Articles

Let's keep you updated with the ongoings on Brain Trust Hub
We respect your privacy.